My Top 50 Favorite Romance Novels (50-46)

I’ve been reading almost nothing but romance novels since about Sophomore year of high school. My then best friend introduced me to some that she’d read, which became some of my favorites, thereby inspiring US to write our own. I still have that story somewhere. It’s not finished, of course. I didn’t finish writing my very first novel until December 31, 1999, around 9 or 10pm. Cutting it close, eh? I REALLY wanted to have SOMETHING done before the year 2000.

I really like lists. Like, really, REALLY like lists. I make a list to keep track of all my lists. I’m an organizational nerd. (I could LIVE in Office Depot. They sell soda and M & M’s, too, and there are bathrooms.)

Off the top of my head, I quickly made a list of My Top 50 Favorite Romance Novels. I did not put a tremendous amount of thought to this, because, knowing me, it’ll never get done if I get all micro-managey on it. So I perused my bookshelves, a quick check on the internet, and I kinda sorta formed a list.

According to my list, my favorite authors are, in no particular order, Jude Deveraux, Johanna Lindsey, Nora Roberts, Jackie Collins, and a myriad of others I’m sure you will recognize, and maybe one or two that you don’t.

Bear in mind, I haven’t read a lot of books that were written after 2002, when I became desperately poor. I grew accustomed to reading and re-reading old ones, and going to the thrift store to get 15 “new books” for 3 bucks, and I just got dial-up internet a few years ago. (Now, THAT’S something to LOL about.) There are a few newer books I’ve read that have kind of…surprised me….in good, and bad, ways….I’m still not sure how to react to certain things in books that had…much stricter guidelines, I guess you’d say.

50. The Black Lyon by Jude Deveraux I haven’t seen my copy of this book in years, but I read it alot. It’s the beginning of the Montgomerys of Warbrooke. It’s pretty exciting to see where the family came from.

49. Bitter Sweet (Bittersweet) by LaVyrle Spencer. This woman drives you to tears several times in all of her books. I was in high school when I read this book about high school sweethearts reuniting after 20 years, but I still understood and felt how they felt.

48. A Man in Demand by Cheryl Anne Porter. This author is near and dear to my heart, as she was my high school drama coach, as well as personal writing advisor for a brief time. “Coach” Porter passed away several years ago, but I am trying to live up to our creed, the one she would always sign in my books: “Keep Romance Alive.” Now, that may be a nice, general thing to write, but I’m still trying. This was the first contemporary story from Porter and it made me laugh. It included a clumsy redhead and an ex Okie cop sporting OU gear. Loved it! Plenty of humor. The woman bubbled over with humor.

47. Love Only Once by Johanna Lindsey. This is where we meet the Malory family, and my favorite Malory brother, Anthony. But Uncle Tony isn’t the main character here, his beloved niece Regina Ashton is our heroine. Nicholas Eden is our…hero, for lack of a better term. I basically love this book because it introduces the Malorys.

46. Forever Mine, Valentine by Vicki Lewis Thompson. I cannot remember the last time I read this book. I have no idea where my copy is, but I remember Charlie, I think his name was, Cupid, to his intimates. VLT is a fave, and I dig this little series.

One thought on “My Top 50 Favorite Romance Novels (50-46)

  1. must love romance says:

    love Jude Deveraux i just finished highland velvet you should check it out it was awesome i normally don’t re-read books but i must say i may be picking that book back up soon!

Leave a Reply

