No Clever Title Tonight, Sorry

Yeah, sorry about that. Not feeling too clever this evening. My body is acting weird. It might have been all the pudding and soup I’ve been eating, but I have no idea what is happening.

I haven’t been able to concentrate on my WiP tonight, mostly because of that, so focused on finishing one of my favorite books for the second time this week, to try to grasp how a “real” romance GREAT handles tension, sexual and otherwise, how she gets two people who rub each other the wrong way, to finally rub each other the RIGHT way(sorry again).

This book is Vows by LaVyrle Spencer. This is one of my FAVORITE all-time books out of ANY genre, one that I will be including on my countdown, should I ever actually locate my list.

It’s the story of a man who comes to town(in the late 1800s) to set up his life, having just left behind a woman who broke an engagement to marry an older, wealthier man. His heart is broken, his soul is in mild need of repair. So he’s starting over in this new town, and among the first few people he meets is the daughter of his soon-to-be business rival(who actually welcomes him with open arms). He actually mistakes the daughter for a young boy, as she is dressed in pants while working in a barn. He calls her “young fellow,” and sets her off.
She dislikes him immediately for mistaking her for a boy, and also on behalf of her father, whose business she fears might be in trouble because of him. Her best friend and soon to be fiance both welcome him into the community, while Emily(MFC)continues to dislike the newcomer, Tom.

They shoot sparks off one another, boy do they. At first, it’s because Emily feels she can’t stand Tom, but soon we realize that it’s their chemistry popping up between them.

LaVyrle Spencer is RIDICULOUS at how well she describes how they feel and act and react to one another, and how they deal with the tension between them, and then, once they figure out what is happening, what happens with their best friends, who they feel they are pretty much betraying.

I am no LaVyrle Spencer. There is only one.

I’m fabulous at dialogue–that’s not arrogance, that is just what I’ve been told. I come from a theatre background, as a Stage Manager and a playwright, so the dialogue comes pretty easy for me. The description the surrounds the dialogue is incredibly difficult for me. Probably because I am not fully aware of my own surroundings.

If I were to describe my home, I would say it was cluttered and messy and chaotic. Those who are exceptional at describing the setting, etc, would be able to use all of their senses and describe what this place smells like, the fabrics covering the loveseat and table, what they hear when it’s dead silent around here. That stuff doesn’t FLOW for me. I have to CONCENTRATE really hard on that stuff, so I tend to leave all of that for last, after I’ve gotten all of the words I need to have on the page.

Ugh. I think I’m going to go put in a movie that might help, grab a notebook, and go lie in bed, and finish Chapter Four so that I can figure out what needs to happen in Chapter Five.

Seacrest out.

Leave a Reply

