9 to 5

Don’t think I haven’t been working.

I’ve been working.

I’ve also been procrastinating.

Also, there is a lot of television on my mind.

And I can actually log some of my tv time as research. Of course, I didn’t know that certain aspects of different shows was going to inspire different pieces of this story.

Nothing huge was ripped off, just to be clear, but there were things that jumped out and screamed “LISTEN TO ME!” that I knew needed to be thought about as I continue to write.

Some folks say you can’t be inspired by television, that you just end up stealing bits from tv and calling it your own.

Here’s my perfect ambrosia salad of an early Fall-tv lineup:

M-F when I’m home I watch One Life to Live, General Hospital, and, until recently, All My Children (Boooo! Screw The Chew!)
Daytime soaps show me how to add a little drama and create some suspense.
I live for Monday nights during the regular tv season. I survive Mondays only because I know that Castle is on.
The relationship between Castle and Beckett is a good study in trust. Sometimes all it takes to inspire many pages is one look from either of them. There are very specific moments I keep in my vault.

Tuesday nights get quiet at the store sometimes, So I have Glee to while away an hour. Tell me you don’t have a soundtrack playing in your head at all times, and that occasionally you feel like doing a whole production number.

I know it’s not just me.

Sometimes the music they use are exactly what I need. Sometimes it’s exactly what I need to distract me from one WiP to think about and plan for another. Most of my WiPs are inspired heavily by music and involve some dancing (so, ok, I will catch Dancing with the Stars if I can, depending on the contestants, but I prefer So You Think You Can Dance).

Thursdays are all about Grey’s and Private Practice. Drama and interaction. That’s what those two hours are for. The interaction between Meredith and Cristina and Bailey and the Chief are outstanding. They are entertaining and they draw you in. I want to be able to do that.

Fridays are Fringe Fridays, but I really can’t claim research for this one. I have no idea what is going on in this show, but I love it.

I watch SNL for comic timing purposes. I do the opposite of what they do, and I’m good.
Saturdays are also for Doctor Who. There’s a wealth of interaction and plenty of drama and suspense and truth. And lots of timey wimey stuff. It’s helpful to know how to weave a convoluted web.

Oh.

I watched Pan Am on Sunday. It’s too early to tell, but I don’t think it’ll be around for long.

So see? I can find an excellent excuse for watching all the tv that I do.

I’ve also been reading. Books I’ve had forever, some more recently written stuff that I REALLY need to review.

I’m keeping up with the Tuesday Tales and 750 words challenges, but I really think the 750 words isn’t going to be something I’ll do again for a while.

I think I mentioned it, but I’ve posted the first few chapters of this one on Book Country. I think it’s the first 5.

I’m nearing the end of month two of my so-called “One month” project. It looks like it’ll be more like three months.

To recap:
1st five chapters are on BC, and I have chapters 6-10, and the second half of 11. I’ve done the first half of chapters 12 and 13–I got stuck. Then I started bobbing and weaving and I was fine.

I had to bob and weave to the end of the whole shebang. With this one, I don’t know what’s going on in the middle until I know what is going on with the end. And that is surprisingly easy.

I also have chapters 14 & 15 done. I am waiting for inspiration to strike for chapter 16…we’re starting to wrap up here. But I’m trying to figure out where to add the tension, and create an obstacle, because the vomit that I am trying really hard to honor is really pretty boring. Or it will be until I get everything all stitched together so that I can create a timeline and an outline and edit the thing so that I can revise so that it doesn’t look like a grade schooler wrote it.

And take a deep breath.

It will also be time to get all the vital stats of the characters down on paper so that they’ll have the correct name, eye and hair color in the next version, etc.
I’m really starting to know who these people are, and how to interject some humor into the situation.

Humor I can do, no problem. But here I’m writing about something I’m not exactly familiar with and just kind of saying things, hoping they stick to the wall like spaghetti cooked to perfection.

Ok. Whatever. It’s very late. I’m very lucky I’m off work tomorrow. Plenty of time to clean up my draft. I’ve double pasted like crazy towards the end. Ooops.

Leave a Reply

