November One. NaNoWriMo Day 1: Captain’s Log

It’s been nearly 24 hours. And boy, am I glad I’ve got it “easy.”

I’m not starting from scratch, so it feels a little like cheating, but this mess took three months planning to get here. Each month, I learned more and more about this story and the characters living in it.

Plus, it’s a way to get a view of how NaNoWriMo works. So far as I’ve seen, you write your ass off until you hit about 2000 words and then you go live some life, and prepare to do it again.

It’s INSANITY. That’s pretty much what I’ve been doing the past few months. Except for the living the life thing. I like being a shut-in. I’m in charge of the remote here, not out there.

Anyway, I have my first chapter done! Yeah, don’t think it’s going to be that easy every day. I’m used to pen and paper editing, so it’s going to be quite a bit more difficult to adjust to making notes and editing on the screen.

Chapter One Original was 1423, 5 pages
New Chapter One is 2610 words, 10 pages

Yes, I’m combining chapters and adding new information. Ten pages isn’t too crazy for a chapter, is it?

At least I got rid of most of the heavy exposition. Just cut it right on out. And it didn’t even hurt.

Oh, look. I have just enough time for a bathroom break before Day 2 starts.

Leave a Reply

