NaNoWriMo Day 5–EARTHQUAKE!!! : Captain’s Log

I’m on shaky ground here, dear readers, and I mean that quite literally.

I just felt my first earthquake.

And let me tell you, that was some crazy shit.

I heard it before it hit. And that really freaked me out.

Then everything started shaking and tilting a touch, the lights flickering, the internet freaking out…and I just sat here in front of my desk with my mouth open, watching it all happen.

Not even trying to save the fish when the water threatened to splash out. I only watched my monitor dance across the desk. I did nothing to stop it.

I just sat here. There was no doorway action, no hiding under something sturdy.

I had no plan, I didn’t know how serious it was going to be, but I did not move.

And rather than concentrate on that, I’m just gonna let you know what I got done in the past 24 hours for NaNoWriMo.

I got two chapters taken care of, Chapters 5 and 6.
Chapter 5 went from 1376 words, 5 pages, to 13 pages and 3459 words. Chapter 6 went from 5 to 9 pages, and 1128 to 2528 words.

And boy, has the physical shift been made in this story. Not like, actually IN the story, but in the format and pages. I have a feeling it’s going to undergo another shift change when I’m done with draft 2.

Shaking things up, all Earthquake-in-Oklahoma-style.

Leave a Reply

