Writing a Book is HARD–And Don’t Let Anyone Tell You Otherwise

If anyone says writing is easy, obviously no one has ever really tried it.
Remember how I started this story on August 1, 2011? And now I thought I could really get it done in thirty days?

[insert laugh track here]

It’s been eight months and I’m still working on this one story, trying to get it right, trying to perfect it. Or at least, get it as right as I can so I don’t look like a total idiot when/if it comes out.

This is a painstaking process that requires a LOT of patience. I’m not a patient sort of gal. I want to get this one taken care of and out in the world so I can get down to the stories that are calling my name, wanting my attention.

GET OFF MY BACK, MONKEY!

THIS IS HARD!!!

It doesn’t help that I’m “trying to do something” here that’s a little out of the norm. It’s kind of like Lady Gaga’s meat dress, or hell, pretty much anything she wears. There’s a concept, an idea, a reasoning…

A method to the madness.

I might be trying to do too much that might just confuse and piss off a bunch of readers. I’m trying to show how a character goes from living in her head with more exposition than normal, to sharing her thoughts with others. I’m also trying to show how another character passes a baton of sorts to another.

AND IT’S HARD!!!

I know that it makes sense to my confused, unfocused brain, but I don’t know how others will receive it, if they will think it’s a hot mess, or something interesting.

I’m not searching for accolades…perhaps a good review or two, and maybe some really awful ones. I’ve gotten some excellent feedback from some beta readers that I’m incorporating into my edits. (THANK YOU, IF YOU ARE ONE OF THESE READERS.) These folks have really helped me along quite a bit, pointing me in better directions.

But guess what? It’s been about a month and a half or so, and I’ve only finished the re-re-re-re-rewrites of Chapter One and the first part of Chapter Two. And I feel like I’m bobbing like a buoy in the middle of the ocean, surrounded by sharks. I know all that I can do is work on it, hone it the best that I can, and when I *feel* that it’s done, send it out into the universe, by way of self publication or an actual factual publisher.

But getting to that point is (say it with me) HARD!!!

This story is my meat dress. I want people to like it, but there will be so many people who won’t. I can’t make everyone happy…I just need to make sure I can do it right.

Leave a Reply

