My 35th Birthday Is In One Week

Now that I’ve got your attention..ha. That’s pretty much all I have to say about July 22. For now. I’ll be 35, and I will be working towards a self-imposed deadline the entire three days I will have off from the booze shop. And I’m pretty excited about it. Did I tell you? They’re doing the 2012 Olympics in London for my birthday. They’re a week late, but I totally understand. It takes a lot of work to put together a celebration of this magnitude.

Anyway, I was talking about that deadline I gave myself. I’ve got until August 1, 2012, to come forth with a pretty damn perfect final draft for PHYSICAL THERAPY. That will be the one-year anniversary of my starting a project that I thought was only going to take a month.

More about that deadline another time.

I got myself nice and focused last night and sat down and prettied up Samantha Jane Uses Her Words. Do you like her? Is she shiny and relaxing? Is she too pink? I’m not REALLY that much of a pink girl, but I thought I could use the theme of the blog to reflect my current projects.

The color pink has a place of importance in the story. No, the Heroine doesn’t dress in all pink, her bedroom isn’t all pink and girly. It’s not THE most important part of the story, but it’s significant to Emma and Brandon.

Plus, there are stars. Who doesn’t like stars?

Oh, and the picture of me that all real authors would have up on their blog/website? My picture is Daria Morgendorffer. You know, “La la la.” People refer to me as Daria a lot. Apparently I’ve got that sarcasm/cynic/realist thing going on. And I’ve never been known to hesitate to lay down some truth. Then there’s the glasses and the hair thing.
Another reason Daria is my placeholder is because that picture is how people know me. If I change my picture on Twitter, no one knows who I am.

Slightly off the topic:
So, for the record, I don’t own any of the images that are gracing my blog. I’m starting to learn about rights and
stuff, taking the self-publishing fork in the road for this first story.

I’m putting together a book cover, which has made me about lose my mind. I didn’t think I’d need a degree in Art or
Computer Graphics to write smut. I don’t know why that never occurred to me. Perhaps because I do words and not
pictures, or The Matrix. So this first cover gets put together after 5 days. The first 3 days were spent reading
and trying to learn what all the manuals and videos were telling me to do. I just didn’t get it. Finally, I just
said to hell with the manuals and videos, and figured out the basics myself.

What I got looked like a kid’s fingerpainting. Actually, that’s an insult to kids. I wasn’t getting the hang of it,
and I was getting frustrated, so I decided to back away. That’s when a buddy told me about Createspace. It took
less than an hour to get the basics of what I wanted. I’m not going to stop learning about the software, but I
think Createspace might be a better way to go THIS time. (edit: See? I’m so computer-illiterate I can’t figure out how to fix those paragraphs.)

Finding images takes forever sometimes. There are a couple of sites I’ve checked out that had ALMOST the right
images & they could be mine for the right price. But Createspace has free images, which, yes, can be lame, but they
had the exact image I wanted, so it can’t be all bad.

Anyway, my picture is Daria, and will remain to be Daria until I have a really good photo that isn’t 15 years old. The last really good pictures that I had are headshots from 1997.

Oh, something I noticed while I was cleaning up in here. My “follower” count says that 917 people have visited my blog.

At first I was all

Then I was all

And THEN I was all

It was pretty exciting to see that number. Especially considering I thought maybe 6 or 7 people were reading this. So to see that I’m not on this journey alone is AWESOME.

Thanks to all of you.

One thought on “My 35th Birthday Is In One Week

Leave a Reply

