November is NEXT WEEK.

 

I’m getting ready for NaNo…I’ve already got several projects in various stages. I don’t need to start a new one. I need to finish the ones I’ve already got going. I have a complete draft ready for editing, so I will be working on that one. I’ve got most of that draft printed out, along with some pages of some other projects. Did a little bit of transcribing for one story…I was on a roll, so I thought I would keep going just a little longer with Chapter Two of that mess from high school. It’s getting more and more embarrassing as I go. Especially since it appears I still have some of the same habits….

 

So here’s Chapter Two of

Working It Out

 

 

“So that’s it? No warning? Nothing?” Danielle asked, taking a sip of herbal tea.

“That’s it. I can’t believe this! I can’t work with that guy—not without killing him.” Althea said.

“Well, why don’t you tell Gabe what happened?” Danielle suggested.

“Tell him what?” Althea said. “Tell him his newest protégée called me a ‘slut’ after I propositioned him? I think not.”

 

At that very moment, a similar conversation was taking place in Gabe’s office, between Taylor and Gabe.

They were still there, going over details, eating Chinese takeout.

“Hey, Taylor,” Gabe said, chewing on an eggroll. “I noticed today you turned frosty when you met Althea. And I also noticed she didn’t exactly radiate warmth when she saw you either. What’s the story?”

“No story,” Taylor said, not meeting Gabe’s eyes. “I just don’t like her.”

“Don’t like her?” Gabe hooted. “Why not? She’s the sweetest girl around. Except for Danielle, her best friend, though.”

Taylor frowned. “Oh, yeah. They’re young looking.”

“Yep,” Gabe grinned. “She is young. She’s a fresh new twenty two. Kinda pretty, huh?” Gabe asked, judging Taylor’s reaction.

“Yeah, I guess so,” Taylor replied disinterestedly.

“Uh huh. So anyway, what’s the problem with Althea?” Gabe said easily.

“Well, uh,” Taylor shifted uncomfortably. “Well,” he cleared his throat.  “She, uh, sort of , uh, made a few…um…shall we say, suggestive comments towards me that I didn’t exactly like, and I uh, sort of called her a…uh..a…” Taylor stammered.

“A what?” Gabe demanded, bracing himself.

“A slut,” Taylor grumbled softly.

Gabe dropped his eggroll and shot out of his chair. “You called her a what?” he asked, astonished.

Taylor checked to see if Gabe was mad. He wasn’t. He was shaking with silent laughter. He plopped back down in his chair, chuckling.

Gabe finally stopped laughing and groaned. “Big mistake man. Big, huge, gigantic mistake. Congratulations, Mr. Taylor Warren, you now have an enemy for life. Althea may be the nicest person in the world, but whoa! Hell hath no fury like Althea Johnson scorned,” Gabe intoned. “I’d check to see if my car’s been messed with if I were you.”

“She wouldn’t actually do anything, would she?” Taylor asked worriedly.

Gabe raised his eyebrows. “Wouldn’t she?”

Taylor groaned loudly. “What was I supposed to do? Nothing?”

“Exactly! Nada. Zip. Nothing. Especially where Althea’s concerned. See, the thing is, Althea and Dani have this game. They play it every day during lunch. They try to act like tough construction worker types—the guys love ‘em and the wacky off-the-wall stuff they make up. Listen, Taylor,” Gabe said, leaning forward. “You’ve gotta loosen up.”

“I’ll try.” Taylor sighed in misery.

“I’ll help.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chapter Two

“So that’s it? No warning? Nothing?” Danielle asked, taking a sip of herbal tea.

“That’s it. I can’t believe this! I can’t work with that guy—not without killing him.” Althea said.

“Well, why don’t you tell Gabe what happened?” Danielle suggested.

“Tell him what?” Althea said. “Tell him his newest protégée called me a ‘slut’ after I propositioned him? I think not.”

 

At that very moment, a similar conversation was taking place in Gabe’s office, between Taylor and Gabe.

They were still there, going over details, eating Chinese takeout.

“Hey, Taylor,” Gabe said, chewing on an eggroll. “I noticed today you turned frosty when you met Althea. And I also noticed she didn’t exactly radiate warmth when she saw you either. What’s the story?”

“No story,” Taylor said, not meeting Gabe’s eyes. “I just don’t like her.”

“Don’t like her?” Gabe hooted. “Why not? She’s the sweetest girl around. Except for Danielle, her best friend, though.”

Taylor frowned. “Oh, yeah. They’re young looking.”

“Yep,” Gabe grinned. “She is young. She’s a fresh new twenty two. Kinda pretty, huh?” Gabe asked, judging Taylor’s reaction.

“Yeah, I guess so,” Taylor replied disinterestedly.

“Uh huh. So anyway, what’s the problem with Althea?” Gabe said easily.

“Well, uh,” Taylor shifted uncomfortably. “Well,” he cleared his throat.  “She, uh, sort of , uh, made a few…um…shall we say, suggestive comments towards me that I didn’t exactly like, and I uh, sort of called her a…uh..a…” Taylor stammered.

“A what?” Gabe demanded, bracing himself.

“A slut,” Taylor grumbled softly.

Gabe dropped his eggroll and shot out of his chair. “You called her a what?” he asked, astonished.

Taylor checked to see if Gabe was mad. He wasn’t. He was shaking with silent laughter. He plopped back down in his chair, chuckling.

Gabe finally stopped laughing and groaned. “Big mistake man. Big, huge, gigantic mistake. Congratulations, Mr. Taylor Warren, you now have an enemy for life. Althea may be the nicest person in the world, but whoa! Hell hath no fury like Althea Johnson scorned,” Gabe intoned. “I’d check to see if my car’s been messed with if I were you.”

“She wouldn’t actually do anything, would she?” Taylor asked worriedly.

Gabe raised his eyebrows. “Wouldn’t she?”

Taylor groaned loudly. “What was I supposed to do? Nothing?”

“Exactly! Nada. Zip. Nothing. Especially where Althea’s concerned. See, the thing is, Althea and Dani have this game. They play it every day during lunch. They try to act like tough construction worker types—the guys love ‘em and the wacky off-the-wall stuff they make up. Listen, Taylor,” Gabe said, leaning forward. “You’ve gotta loosen up.”

“I’ll try.” Taylor sighed in misery.

“I’ll help.”

4 thoughts on “November is NEXT WEEK.

  1. Hello there I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome job. Posted by 1daycarinsurance.ws.

Leave a Reply

