The Original Sinners–a Review (The Siren, The Angel, The Prince)

I haven’t done much in the way of reviewing here on the ol’ blog. Mostly a bunch of bitching, whining, and sometimes talking about what I’m working on, but today is your lucky day. Today is the day that I review The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz.

I finished reading the third in the series today, and I’m having a hard time letting go of the world she’s created, so this review is my way of keeping one toe in while I’m waiting for the fourth book, which Tiffany is hard at work on right this very second.

So here we go.

Holy crap.

I mean, for real, you guys. HOLY. CRAP.

I just finished reading an ARC for the third book in Tiffany Reisz’s Original Sinners series, The Prince. 

She’s done it again.

She’s got me bound and gagged and twisted and tormented.

But I haven’t used my safe word yet.

I’m not here to give away spoilers. I’m not even here to tell you too terribly much about what goes on in this world that Tiffany has created. I AM here to tell you that you need to run and get these books and read the hell out of them.

Just make sure you have plenty of chocolate and tissues. And time. You’re going to want to read each book all at once, with only breaks for the bathroom. I kid you not. Once you immerse yourself in this world, it’s going to be very hard to pull yourself out and go about your real life. You’ll be thinking about Nora and the gang and what’s going to happen next. That’s fine if you’re doing laundry or the dishes, but not if you’re in some sort of important business meeting or you’re waiting on customers, or if your children want to be fed.

These characters, Nora, Kingsley, Søren, Griffin, Michael, Wes, all of these people are going to become very real for you. Tiffany Reisz does not mess around. This is serious business. I seriously have never seen a world painted with words so well. You are drawn in, seduced, kicking and screaming…well, I was drawn in and kicking and screaming when I read Seven Day Loan, which first introduced some of these characters to me.

I wasn’t used to reading anything like what Seven Day Loan presented. These stories are set in the world of BDSM, which I didn’t really know about or understand before SDL. I was into the more, shall we say, vanilla, stories. But once I met Nora, or Eleanor, actually, I wanted to find out more about her. My squeamishness gave way to curiosity. I’m not saying I’m desensitized in regards to BDSM now, but I’m slowly getting used to it and understanding why the people involved are who they are. Unlike…some other novels set in the BDSM world, I’m drawn in by these people and not the setting, necessarily. Although the settings in this world are kind of incredible. I find myself questioning a lot of things I thought I knew.

There is A LOT of thinking happening here.

We meet these folks in The Siren. Nora Sutherlin is a notorious erotica writer who also happens to be a member of the Catholic church. And the Queen of the Underground BDSM scene. She began as a sub but grew into herself as the best Domme in the scene. She was taught to be both by the best.

I hesitate to write much more than I have about any one of these characters because the fun really starts when you learn about them firsthand. But that’s BASICALLY what you need to know about her. And that she’s intelligent, strong, smart, smart-mouthed, and wise. Which can get her into trouble sometimes.

In The Siren Nora is working on a new novel and gets a new editor Zach, who wants nothing to do with the “trash” (my word) that she writes.

In The Angel, she is sent (balking, kicking and screaming) off to play in the country with her friends Griffin and Michael while a situation back home gets taken care of.

The Prince sees Nora in another country setting, but it’s like quite like the one we see in The Angel. There are all sorts of scandals and shenanigans happening throughout to keep the reader hopping. “Will she? Won’t she? Will he? Oh my God, are you serious?” were the types of things popping into my head and out of my mouth as I read these books.

I was granted an ARC of The Prince today. It took me six hours and minimal bathroom breaks, but I finished it in one sitting. I’ve been waiting, stalking, skulking around for this one to pop up. I’m pretty sure the last time I did that was for the Sweet Valley High series back in the day, and I love books. I just haven’t loved many books like this in a very long time.

I hate to be vague and evasive, but really, the fun is in the discovery. You have to make your own decision about the story and the characters and the world they live in. I’ve read way too many reviews about books that have colored the way I thought and read the book. So it’s up to you. I’m just here to provide you links to where all the goodness is kept.

Fair warning, though. These books are NOTfor the faint of heart. There is a good deal of sex, sure, and it can titillate, and maybe even frighten you. But there is a lot more to BDSM than mere sex. There’s also a lot more to these books than just mere sex and bondage, and that can seduce you, draw you in, and even test you.

Just have your safe word ready.

The Siren, The Angel, and Seven Day Loan are all available now on Amazon as ebooks and actual factual paperbacks. Just click the images of the book covers and they’ll get you there. The Prince is available for pre-order and will be ready for you on November 20. You can also go to http://www.tiffanyreisz.com for some extra bedtime reading. But make sure you read The Siren first!

PUBLISHING DATES,, LINKS TO WEBSITE FOR FREE READS BUT MAKE SURE TO READ THE SIREN FIRST.

Leave a Reply

