NaNoWriMo Day 13: CAUGHT UP

WOO HOO!!! That’s right, buddy! I am CAUGHT UP.

That whole visit to the ER REALLY set me back. That, and that whole day job thing. Add to that the Meditation challenge I’m also involved in(a story for another day), and all of my time is scheduled. Sleeping, eating, working, meditating, writing, THAT IS ALL I CAN DO RIGHT NOW.

Now, I KIND of cheated on the catching up thing. Since I’m editing a manuscript that already exists, I just did a little cutting and pasting and changing so that I could get 2ooo words down quickly. Only problem with that is, the documents are being jerks, and there’s this ONE blank line I can’t get rid of, and other small formatting issues. (Dude, that blank line is DRIVING ME NUTS.) But I had to do it. There wasn’t much that I’d changed, so there was really no need to type it ALL out. Unless I wanted to avoid formatting issues. But it’s now 2 am on Day 14. I want to go to sleep. I’m sure I’ll regret it later.

To celebrate my 26550 words I have down, I thought I would share a glass of wine with you.

No, wait. I can’t do that.

But since I did just finish with a scene where wine is involved, how about I show you some wines that are delicious and not a billion dollars?

One of my favorite winemakers is Charles Smith from Washington State. Most of the bottles are around $20 or under. This is what I call the fancy stuff. (Hey, I’ve had that $200 Opus One. I’d rather have Charles Smith’s $20 cab.) I don’t drink a lot(even though I do work in a liquor store), but if I bring you a bottle of Charles Smith, that must mean I like you or really want to impress you.

I’ll go from high to low here.

Boom Boom Syrah

It’s a dark, jammy, rich wine with just the right amount of spice.

It pairs well with rich, hearty meaIy dishes–or nothing at all. 

 

Chateau Smith is one of my favorite Cabernet Sauvignons. Usually I like my cabs a little more relaxed, but this one is on the drier side, but it has a lot going on. Full-bodied, dark cherry and tobacco flavors. Super tasty.

 

 

My favorite red by CS is The Velvet Devil. It’s probably THE tastiest Merlot I’ve ever had. The very first time I tried it, it invoked thoughts and flavors of peppery hamburger steak. It’s crazy good.

 

 

I don’t usually like Chardonnay, but I really liked Eve. It’s fruity, but not overly so. It’s got a little buttery creaminess to tame the crisp fruit.

 

 

Kung Fu Girl is a fun Riesling. It’s a little on the drier side than I usually prefer, but it’s got some really nice fruit to it. It’s great with spicy food, for sure!

 

 

 

They’ve also got a great new Pinot Grigio called Vino, but it’s not up on their website at the moment.

I can’t rave ENOUGH about this wine.

Oh, but I guess I should say that I don’t work for their company, and that I’m giving them PR on my own–not that they need it. I just work at a bottle shop and when I do drink, I drink the good stuff.

Just click on each picture to read more about the wines. And let me know what you think if you try some.

 

I’m going to bed. I’ve got stuff to do tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

