Double Feature Saturday: The Great Gatsby

Welcome to the final Double Feature Saturday and the final post of my Love and Romance-o-rama! Thanks for sticking with me!

Now…In keeping with this week’s “theme” of how love can go wrong, soul mates or not, here, watch this:

Now, I haven’t seen the NEW version yet, but it IS a Baz Luhrmann piece, so I have no doubt I will enjoy THAT aspect.

In my opinion, the story is not Gatsby and Daisy’s tragic romance. It’s about the lengths that people will go to to get what they want, how these people change, how the things that people believe to be true…are just not. BUT the tragic romance is a Big Deal. I mean, it IS the reason Jay Gatsby sets up house where he does, how he does. It’s the reason for the ending.

But there is the ugly amongst the beauty and opulence…and sometimes that is way more interesting.

So that’s it! And although it’s technically no longer February, the way the month fell, how everything was all lined up, I thought it appropriate to end the blogathon with a final movie.

Also, I’m planning on making sure there is new content on this blog at least once a week, and since it is now March 1, I’m totally cheating and using this post for the first week’s content. The next big blogathon will take place in July for my birthday, so be thinking of some things you NEED to know about me.

Thanks for taking this little journey with me. I’ve had a lot of fun with these posts, and I hope you have too. Thanks to the new followers, thanks for all the likes, thanks for all the reads.

Keep romance alive!

Leave a Reply

