Birthday Blog-o-rama Sunday: Favorite Birthday Desserts

I’m a fan of dessert. A BIG fan of dessert. And while birthday cake is at the top of the list of delicious treats I indulge in in July, there are others that I may stuff my face with as well. For instance, this year, I’m gonna take my chocolate-loving self off to the Godiva store and get some raspberry truffles. But if I were hard pressed to name a favorite dessert, I’m going to say that Tiramisu is my number one.

I’ve never made Tiramisu, and I’m fairly sure I would be very bad at it, so I’ll leave it to the pros. The best I ever had was from an Italian restaurant in my town called Bellini’s. It was so rich and creamy and delicious….Now I’m salivating. That stuff is so good, but when I’m having a Tiramisu emergency (which don’t happen very often), the stuff from the freezer section of Target will do just fine.

But it’s not the same.

delicious image googled and borrowed from askchefdennis.com

 

Now, it’s not a birthday without actual birthday cake. I do really like the white, store-bought cake with the creamy icing. I’m such a huge fan, I’ll randomly grab a slice whenever the mood strikes from the local grocery store. White cake, white frosting, thank you very much.

There are very few things, however, that trump a cake that is made just for you by one of your friends. One year, and I can’t remember, but it might have been my 25th, possibly, but my incredibly talented friend Shannon made me a Powerpuff Girls cake with this mold:

(googled image jacked from ebay)

Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture from the finished product (It was over 10 years ago), but this is pretty much what it looked like:

but without the huge sheet cake underneath. (image stolen from cakepicturegallery.com) 

I don’t actually remember if the icing looked like that, but I remember it was tasty, and one of the sweetest things anyone has ever done for me.

So what about you guys? Is birthday cake the be-all, end all? Do you have a specific birthday dessert you MUST have or else it’s not your birthday? You know what to do.

Leave a Reply

