Birthday Blog-o-rama Monday: The Writer in Me

 

  • 01:When did you first start writing?

I was six, I believe, when I wrote my first story. It was a Halloween murder mystery where I killed off all my friends while trick-or-treating.

  • 02:What was your favorite book growing up?

Daphne’s Book by Mary Downing Hahn

Two completely different girls are paired up for a class project. Jessica has a brother and a mom and a decent place to live, but Daphne has her little sister and her grandmother to take care of. I can’t even get into it. I don’t have time to cry today. I don’t care how old you are, go find this book and read it.

  • 03:Are you an avid reader?

Absolutely. Since I could read. I think I was four. My parents didn’t really take too much of an interest, so I think I taught myself to read. But I can’t be sure. But I used to get all sorts of reading awards when I was younger and read at an accelerated level. When I was younger, it  was all about Sweet Valley High and VC Andrews and then all the romance I could handle, then my high school/college reading list, and now I devour fanfiction like it’s going out of style.

  • 04:What’s the best piece of feedback you’ve ever gotten?

Not necessarily feedback, but I was advised to “honor my vomit” and just words down on paper.

  • 05:Did you take writing courses in school/college?

I took a creative writing class in high school. Unfortunately the teacher was better at improv and drama than the previous teacher, who was SUPPOSED to teach the creative writing class. She’d published her first book and was writing in the arena I wanted to be in.

RIP Cheryl Anne Porter, aka “Coach.”

I also took Creative Writing I twice and Playwriting twice in college. Didn’t do as much for me as I thought it would.

  • 06:Have you read any writing-advice books?

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield. 

Thanks to Anne, aka Princess Scribe, I finally saw that I was self-sabotaging, and have been able to understand more about the work I want to do.

 

 

  • 07:What would you say has inspired you the most?

That book, definitely. ^^^^^

Cheryl Anne Porter, absolutely.  I can still hear her in my mind saying the one thing that has stuck with me for over 20 years.

“You don’t mature emotionally until you have regrets.”

And she would always autograph my copies of her books with

“Keep romance alive.” So I’m trying.

  • 08:What’s your favorite writing quote?

My favorite writing quote actually comes from a tattoo on Lady Gaga’s left arm, funnily enough. It is a quote from the poet Rainer Maria Rilke:

In the deepest hour of the night, confess to yourself that you would die if you were forbidden to write. And look deep into your heart where it spreads its roots, the answer, and ask yourself, must I write?

  • 09:How do you feel about love triangles?

They are fantastic when done right.

  • 10:Do you prefer writing on a computer or longhand?

For the longer stuff, I prefer a pen and paper, or a pencil. For short little things, I can deal with the computer.

  • 11:Do you outline?

I do, but I don’t always end up following it.

  • 12:What advice would you give to young writers?

Just write. Write all the time, write everything, write no matter what. And don’t judge yourself. No one gets it right (or write) the first time.

  • 13:Which do you enjoy reading the most: physical, ebook, or both?

I’ve been reading on the computer or tablet for so long now I think reading an actual book might be weird. But I have a huge collection of both.

  • 14:Which do you find hardest: the beginning, the middle, or the end?

The beginning. You can know where you’re going, know how you’re going to get there, but have zero clue as to where you came from.

  • 15:Which do you find easiest: writing or editing?

Editing, for sure. The ideas are already there, you just have to make them make sense.

  • 16:Have you ever written fan-fiction?

Yep.

  • 17:Have you ever been published?

Indeed. I self-published my  “first”/second book in 2013.

  • 18:How do you feel about friends and close relatives reading your work?

Friends, mostly no prob. Relatives, please don’t.

  • 19:Do you listen to music when you write?

Music inspires many of my scenes, so I always have something playing, even if it’s just on the radio station in my head.

  • 20:What’s your oldest WIP?

Maybe This Time. I started writing it in the late 90s, and finished the first draft December 31, 1999 before I left work and went to a NYE party.

  • 21:What’s your current WIP?

Maybe This Time. I lost the first draft after deciding to put it away for a while. Then after I got some life experience under my belt and was re-inspired, I started back up. The two storylines are extremely similar, but the newer one might just be the better one.

  • 22:What do you do when characters don’t follow the outline?

I just roll with it. It’s their story, not mine.

  • 23:Do you enjoy making your characters suffer?

Nope. That’s one reason I like to read and am trying to write fanfiction. Those folks LOVE themselves some angst and trauma. So I’m learning how to do all that.

Leave a Reply

