Under Construction. Again.

So here’s the thing.

I’ve got this job that takes up all of my time. I’ve got this puppy who takes up what is left. I love my job, and I love my puppy even more…But I’m exhausted. And depressed. And broke.

Let’s go back a bit.

We all know about the job, we all know about the pup–look at her. Isn’t she cute?

 

Isn't she cute in her little sweater?

Isn’t she cute in her little sweater?

 

Anyway, all of my time and energy is spent making my pup happy, and also making my customers, employees, and boss happy. So there’s very little left over to make ME happy (which I am, but that’s a story for a different day).

It’s very simple to make me happy. Let me sleep, feed me, let me watch tv, and let me create.

Therein lies the problem. The pup doesn’t let me sleep in, but she will take naps with me and watch my stories with me. I have people feeding me left and right. But I don’t have any time or energy to CREATE.

I have a fanfic I started writing with a friend in late 2014 that has been on hiatus since, and tons of ideas trying to get out. And that’s in addition to the stories I’ve already got on paper waiting for the red pen of doom.

“But Sam, you could always wake up early to write.”

Why, yes, I could. But then I would have a nervous breakdown by lunch. The pup wakes me up by 7:30 every morning. The next hour and a half is dedicated to her before I go to work. The first hour and a half after work is hers, also.

“But Saa-aam, you could always stay up late to write.”

Once again, yes, I could. But after I get home, walk me and the dog several times, make and eat dinner, clean up that mess, and bathe, I’m usually too exhausted to do anything but lie on the bed and stare mindlessly at the tv.

I TRY to do things at work in between tasks, but these days, that bit of time is spent trying to make extra money.

Long story short, I hit a/n opossum on Halloween, and I had a stretch of bad luck that didn’t end until January of this year. The biggest thing that happened is that my car DIED, like DIED, the day before Thanksgiving, as I was on my way to work, in the middle of traffic.

Yay.

Being as I work in retail, and that is the most hellacious time of year for those of us in that line of work, I had no time or energy to spare on finding a new ride. So in addition to relying upon co-workers and the city bus that didn’t get me close to work, I had to use Uber and Yellow Cab, which cost a pretty penny.

And since my apartment got flooded by my next door neighbor’s toilet (I TOLD you I had a run of bad luck), and they refuse to replace the carpet without me writing a manifesto on why I think they should, I’m looking for a place to live.

So I need money. And since I’m too exhausted to take on another actual job, I’ve started doing the survey thing. And the sweepstakes thing. And the picking up pennies out of puddles thing. I’m about to start the Extreme Couponing thing…

Anyway, I’m going to stop feeling guilty for not blogging, for not writing, for not editing, and maybe, just maybe the stress and depression levels will pull back a touch, and allow a little bit of creation.

Like right now, I’m supposed to be working on store invoices, but I thought I needed to get some words out and on a blank sheet NOW or they would never happen.

And now we get to the actual purpose of this particular entry.

Since I’m doing all this stuff to earn extra money, why not share some of the knowledge I’m gaining? It’s like my store’s motto: We drink the bad stuff so you don’t have to. I’ll be the one to go through all of these many companies that pay for this or that and let you know if it’s worth doing. Or if a particular product is worth trying. (Dude, samples.)

While I’m exhausted and out of time, I’m having a wee bit of fun with this. And it’s the perfect thing to try to focus this blog on [now]. (Yet another blog post for another day.)

I’m not going to promise specific posts on specific days, because although deadlines are usually my friends, I will lose my mind if I try to promise too much. So I’ll say this: I have things to tell you about, and I will tell you all about them in due time.

I’m trying new things. That’s why this Beautiful Disaster is Under Construction.

 

One thought on “Under Construction. Again.

Leave a Reply

